Spring has sprung…?

Posted: March 27, 2013 in 2013
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Here it is. Spring time again. Time for all of us to embrace the spring cleaning craze. Why is it that we all want to make updates and changes to the inside of our homes when what we really want is to be outside in the sunshine?

Maybe it’s because we are all stuck inside during the cold winter months and we want to spruce it up. Maybe we are tired of looking at the same old thing day after day after day. Maybe it’s the tax returns.

At my house, we are still getting snow. Cabin fever has set in and is working overtime. We haven’t even had a decent enough day to open the windows and air out the house. I’ve been out to inspect the gardens in search of the early spring crocus blooms and have found a couple. The tulips have started their journey in search of sun and I so desperately want to rake away the leaves from fall and clean up the gardens, lay down mulch and till up the veggie garden, but I know I cannot. I’m afraid the lingering cold temps and impending threat of more snow might damage the young growth. So I go back inside and sit and contemplate inside projects.

This is the list:
1. Build loft beds for both boys to increase usable space in their rooms.
2. Complete little man’s redesign with a few decorations and putting the chosen toys back in there. (Thus
removing them from the living room!)
3. Unused toys will be sorted and a select few will be stored in the living room for visiting children.
4. Build shelves for toy storage in the living room.
5. Repaint the kitchen/dining/living room.
6. Tile backsplash project in kitchen.
7. Build nooks on either side of the sliding glass door to create launch pads.

The list is actually longer, but I have decided that the remaining items will wait until late summer or fall. I just want the main part of the house in order before we stop spending any real time in there. Most of the items on my list will improve function and eliminate the clutter that has been plaguing me all winter and hopefully reduce the required cleaning on a daily basis.

Don’t judge me, I did said “hopefully”. I have no delusions that anyone other than me will end up utilizing the storage solutions provided.

I believe that the supplies needed for the building projects (minus the backsplash) will be purchased this weekend. I will post updates as we go, pictures included. I plan on completing the repainting before the newly built storage items are installed so I guess it’s time for a trip to Menards for the paint.

What’s on your list while we wait for the real arrival of Spring?

Comments
  1. The Cutter says:

    I have to get my yard in order. Unfortunately, having never owned my own home before, I’m not entirely sure what needs to be done.

  2. TammyeHoney says:

    Stools with covers work great to hide toys also…so do window benches. Every home has a long list of to do’s so do not feel like you are in the minority lol…If we ever get it to stop raining perhaps our list can start. It is difficult to move around four animals and a wounded hubby lol…

    • jeepnmom says:

      I think we have come up with a workable storage solution for the legos. I will keep the stools in my idea book! Thank you! We woke up to snow again. I’m beginning to wonder if I will ever be able to start outside. 😦

      • TammyeHoney says:

        We are expecting rain for the week again if that makes you feel any better…:( May flowers are just around the corner….I keep telling myself that anyways lol…

Leave a Reply

