I think we have had a hoarding break through!

Posted: March 21, 2013 in 2013, Family
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The weekend before last I was finally able to complete the painting project in the little one’s room. I also got the carpet shampooed, again. Have I mentioned how much I HATE carpet?

We set up his room with just the furniture, the toys remain in the large boxes in the living room, and he loves it! He is sleeping in there every night!

We also went through all of the clothes in his closet. I let him do the sorting. It was good for him. He was able to let go of items because they were too small or had holes and was even willing to help bag them up to go to my sister for her younger boys.

I know I promised pictures, but it’s not yet completed as we have a bed to build and some more decorating to do.

After we completed the project, I asked him: “So what toys do you want in your room?”

His reply surprised me. “I guess I did have a lot of stuff I don’t need in there. I like it neat and clean the way it is now.”

I think we have had a hoarding break through! He is even making his bed and vacuuming so it stays that way. I am a very proud mama!

He is requesting a storage solution for his Legos that will fit in the bottom of his closet so his room doesn’t end up cluttered again and maybe some shelves so he can display his favorite builds. He later told me he would like a gun cabinet, which freaked me out until he said it was for his nerf guns. I’ve been looking at the gun racks that mount to the wall, but mechanic man said they aren’t designed for bulky nerf guns. He is opting to build a custom rack when he builds the bed. I think it would be adorable.

We are getting ready for spring, so even the kids have been helping around the house lately. They are doing more maintenance than cleaning, but what I clean has been staying that way. I even saw my little one with the duster!

The snow on the first day of spring dampened our resolve though. Last night was unproductive.

Mechanic Man has finally joined me and agrees that a tile backsplash in the kitchen would be a nice upgrade, fairly inexpensive, and quite possibly a fun project to do. He even helped me pick out the tiles. He prefers the glass tiles for easy cleaning. I am very excited!

How are your spring cleaning projects coming along? Has spring arrived where you are? I know Sobomama has mowed her lawn twice this week. Yes, I am jealous! Mechanic Man has plowed twice this week. 😦

Leave a Reply

