Growing room….It feels good!

Posted: February 25, 2013 in 2013
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

If you’ve been following my blog, you know that I hurt my back a little over a week ago. I have a herniated disc and nerve impingement. I can’t sit, stand or walk for very long without pain and I cannot bend over. I can’t stand it, I have so many things on my to-do list and I was actually getting them done thanks to this blog. So I commissioned the boys to help me organize the kitchen. 🙂

I would ask them to empty a cupboard and bring the contents to me. I would sort, purge and organize and have them return the contents to the cupboard. It worked well and I was able to complete all of the bottom cupboards! I took a trip to family dollar and picked up bins for a dollar each to help with the project.

I had my husband cut a spare piece of plywood to the same size as the 1 shelf that was in this cupboard to utilize the height better.
014

I reused the rack I had been using for baking pans for the lids. They are now neatly stored and can be accessed easily.
(the baking pans were relocated to the basket above the fridge that I showed in the last post)
011

This cupboard did nothing but store the turkey roaster I use 2-3 times a year. I removed that, put it in a plastic bag, and put it on the shelf in the garage. Now it houses my hot mits and bowls and the pyrex baking dishes.
013

These 3 cupboards housed my pans and lids on the bottom shelf and my baking needs on the top. This was the space that needed the most help. I used my dollar store bins to hold my bags of muffin mixes, extra powdered sugar, and side dishes that also come in bags. The shelf I bought for spices (That idea didn’t work. It didn’t fit in the cupboard and when I tried to use it I knocked off the spices on the lower sections.) is now being used for Jello. I also used a bin that would normally be used in a bathroom or to hold pencils (3 for 1.75) for hot cocoa packets.
008009

Sadly, I have to admit that I threw out tea bags that expired in 2010. My husband is the only one who drinks iced tea in the summer so we don’t go through a ton. At least I didn’t have mulitple packages. I will buy new this summer when he is in the mood for it again.

My top cupboards are already organized because I am in those multiple times a day. My canned good are alphabetized and all the labels face forward. After organizing the bottom cupboards and repurposing spaces, I now have some unused space in the top cupboards. Growing room, it feels good!

Next project….the freezers. (Until I can build the launch pad in the dining room! 😉 )

Comments
  1. katiebman says:

    Love the progress! Good job, bec!

Leave a Reply

