What to do when you can’t do anything…..

Posted: February 18, 2013 in 2013, Chaos, Family
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

As you know, I am laid up with a bum back. I attempted to go to work, but the pain was so bad I left at lunch and came home for a nice narcotic cocktail and a heating pad.

Since it hurts to bend over or stand for too long, I have enlisted the boys to assist me in everything. Hormonal teenager feels sorry for me and finds it interesting how many things I do during the day that require me to bend over or climb up on a stool. (Mechanic man banned me from the stool after I fell off it on day 1) Hyper child thinks helping me is best thing since sliced bread. I think I will continue to enlist his help even after I feel better.

This is what I ended up with for the fridge project. Not very pretty, but I still plan on adding picture frames. I am also planning on getting some vinyl stickers so the titles don’t get rubbed off.
006

This is the before pic of the space above the fridge.
272
I started by removing everything and wiping down all the surfaces.
275
I emptied the basket of all the craft items and washed the liner. I repurposed it for baking pans. I donated the craft items to my sister because she has younger children and she has both girls and boys.
007

My BFF has me attempting to join her on the journey to cheaptitude. As always, check out her blog….sobomama.wordpress.com
She is always saying that being aware of what you have will save you money because you won’t end up duplicating items in your pantry and letting items go unused and expire. So I tackled my spices. I kept them above the stove, not a good idea.

After combining duplicates, throwing out expired items and sorting out the ones I don’t use, (I inherited some from my mom) I ended up with this.
005
In true cheaptitude, I saved the basket from the trash at work and cleaned it up. I can slide the whole basket into the cupboard and when I’m ready to cook, I can place it on the counter and everything I need will be at my finger tips.

After that, I tried a new recipe. Taco Sandwiches. Another one from pilsbury.com/recipes
280
Another keeper. Mechanic Man and the boys loved it!

As a bonus, I repurposed the space above the stove for less used items that will not go bad.
008

Comments
  1. katiebman says:

    Love love love. Not crazy about the metal board 😦 Your idea was way cuter. I’m proud of your repurposed baskets and decluttered spices 🙂 Aud and I are about to tackle the kitchen surfaces – Russ grilled last night – and maybe one more drawer so I can avoid grading papers 🙂 Feel better!

  2. The Cutter says:

    Impressive work. I hurt my back last week and all I wanted to do was sit and watch TV. This is much more productive.

  3. mikehamerton says:

    I also have permanent back problem. Solved it by bolting the monitor to side of the bed – then you’ve got time to blog at everyone! Good luck.

Leave a Reply

