The flaming washer of death

Posted: April 16, 2012 in Chaos, Family, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

My day started as planned. Buscuits and gravy for breakfast. Breakfast cooked, family fed and happy, now time to start the day.

Our plan was to go and look at new laptops as our 6 year old walmart model is on its last leg. Our business can not take a crash now that it is such an integral part of it. As my husband lay on the bed, over full from such a wonderful breakfast, I started a load of towels in the washer. I turned to him to tell him to get dressed so we could get done with errands early and have the afternoon to spend doing fun things with our boys when I heard it.

Gajug, gajug, gajug……eeeeehhhhh, gajug, gajug, eeeehhhhh! I said to my husband…”are you telling me we are going to have to…” and as I turned to the washer for what I thought was going to be a balancing of the load, I saw the smoke. Frantically I rushed to it pulling buttons and cords trying to turn it off. He jumped to the fuse box flipping breakers until he found the right one. Smoke filled the house in 30 seconds flat!

The boys ran through the house screaming “FIRE – FIRE – FIRE! Everyone out! Call 9-1-1!” As the alarms started sounding off through out the house. Driving us crazy of course, but creating terror in the boys. So they ran through, but not out. Jumping and figiting all over in the tiny room that housed the machine. Four people do not fit in that space.

We began to open doors and windows to air out the gray, horribly scented smoke and started to assess the situation. We have done several repairs to the unit in last few years, it is 6 years old and was not a top of the line set to begin with. It would be nice to just replace the washer seeing as it was the only one that was broke, but it was a stackable unit. NOT a possibility for us. UGH!

I removed the large load of soaked towels from the washer and placed them in the tub. My youngest underfoot trying to help with the task when in reality, he was just trying to get wet from the soap and water soaked towels, laughing now that there was no real fire. My oldest is the worrier and continually asked what will he wear to school if we can’t wash his clothes. Both my husband and I attempted to reassure him that we would have a washer and dryer in just a couple of hours but he would have nothing of it.

When my youngest son realized that it was not a repair, but a replacement, he began to sulk and tear up. He does not like change and for some reason sees all objects as members of the family. How do I explain nicely after all this, that the flaming washer of death was NOT staying in my house, I don’t care how much you “Love” him!

And we headed off to Menards, where we found out just how much we were going to spend. AAAAHHHHHH!

I do love the new ones though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

